top of page
  • Nicole Calogero

OPINION: My experience of dating with Bumble

Updated: Apr 30, 2022

It’s no secret that the iconic yellow and white logo of Bumble, stands unmatched in the dating app industry and honestly I can see why. What initally intrigued me to download Bumble was the celebrated feature where women make the first move. Since I am a direct person, making the first move empowered me to make my own choices rather than playing the role of a damsel in distress waiting for my prince charming to drop an overused pick-up line. If this sounds captivating, here’s some advice to enjoy Bumble.

Firstly, similar to business, location is crucial. Ultimately, if you live in Sheffield, ideally try to limit to the Sheffield-Manchester, Nottingham-Leeds circle unless you want to travel to Inverness every weekend for a date night. Also, when swiping, look for fellow students. You’ll be surprised by how many students from both University of Sheffield and Sheffield Hallam are waiting to meet you on Bumble. Regardless of the year of study and faculty, Sheffield students have already a couple of things in common and Sheffield offers a notable range of locations perfect for a date. (The Washington anyone?)


Statistically, girls tend to receive more matches, therefore more attention. The best advice for this situation is not to place much attention on people that cancel plans last minute and then crawl back to your DMs. Don’t give much attention to people always asking for your pictures, and be wary when you receive a waterfall of compliments straight away.

Furthermore, a well-designed profile is a key to a successful Bumble experience. You don’t have to look like an Armani model to upload your pictures, essentially, provided that the profile allows your gorgeous personality to shine through then you are on the right path. However, be mindful not to upload older pictures just to avoid misleading the person on the other side of the screen. Luckily if you are feeling stuck, Bumble provides topic starters. For example, ’when I was a kid, I wanted to be…’.


Overall, I had a positive experience when I used Bumble. My favourite aspect included the constant exposure to interesting individuals, who even on formal dates behaved in a relaxed, approachable manner, which removed a substantial amount of tension. I would warmly encourage Bumble if planning to online date.


Edited by Pia Cooper

bottom of page