top of page
  • Keren Ossou

What makes your style you?

This year we have seen a number of trends grace our social media feeds. From streetstyle to Y2K fashion, it is without a doubt that peoples’ personal styles are starting to flourish. Lucy, Tia and Talandira shared how they developed their personal style, and maybe it will give you some inspiration on how you can find yours.


Lucy, 19 

Suzhou, China

How would you describe your style?


I describe my style as ‘this is how I want to dress up, if you don’t like it shut up’. I decide what to wear depending on the occasion and how I feel like. Although sometimes it may seem like an important occasion to someone, but not for me, then I would choose to wear all black because I’m not bothered and black never goes wrong.


When did you start dressing like this?


Since I was 13. I started to buy clothes I like rather than listening to my parents. I’ve always worn clothes that I’ve liked rather than what someone else thinks I should wear.


What inspires your style?


My closet and the clothes I haven’t worn together in the same look. I always need at least half an hour in front of the mirror to decide what I need to wear. I would pair up different items in my mind and the next day, I pick them up from my closet and see if they look good together - but I like trying out new styles by pairing items together and seeing if they work.

Where do you shop for your clothes?


Recently I started shopping at stores, but a few months ago I was an internet shopaholic. Then I realised that stuff that looks good on models won’t always look the same on me.


What advice would you give to someone who wants to develop their personal style?


Be yourself and don’t feel embarrassed, who cares what other people think.

Tia, 18

Sheffield, England

How would you describe your style?


I think my style is often a mix between street style and sort of Y2K indie style - I don’t necessarily wear one aesthetic.


When did you start dressing like this?


I’d say probably last year. I tried to start dressing more out of my comfort zone, but during lockdown and with the rise of Tiktok fashion, my style changed a lot especially since all I could do was online shop.


What inspires your style?


My inspiration definitely comes from Pinterest and TikTok fashion trends. @the.navarose and @vixenesha are two fashion TikTokers I really like.


Where do you shop for your clothes?


I shop mostly on depop, H&M and Shein, even though it’s not the most ethically moral.


What advice would you give to someone who wants to develop their own style?


My advice for other people would be to look on Pinterest, find a specific style you like and try and buy some of the basics for your style which you could wear in multiple ways. Before you buy an item of clothing, try and imagine the outfits you can create with it so that you know it will be wearable and that it’s not an unnecessary purchase.

Talandira,17

Nottingham, England

How would you describe your style?


I would describe my style as a mix of vintage, Bratz doll and Y2K style.


When did you start dressing like this?


I started dressing like this at the start of sixth form.


What inspires your style?


I get my inspiration from Bratz dolls.


Where do you shop for your clothes?


I don’t have a specific shop. I usually just mix and match with things I have in my wardrobe already.


What advice would you give to someone who wants to develop their own style?


Be confident with what you are wearing because for me it’s more about being comfortable with myself and my body. There isn’t a right or wrong way to dress in my opinion. It’s just about working with what you have and if you think you look nice, then you do.

Edited by Katie Wheatley

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page