top of page
  • Marti Stelling

Tips for navigating a new city

As I sat across from the nervous man asking me questions about my hometown while he printed my student ID, my mind started to wander.


The up-hill walk left me hot and flushed, and I doubt I’d have even found the building if it wasn’t for a friendly international student heading the same way.


My boyfriend had already started his full time job, leaving me a full week to discover the city on my own. I got lost looking for Amazon lockers in multi-storey car parks, found the cheapest charity shops, and even gave directions to another lost student.


I snapped back into the moment when the quiet-but-chatty man holding my ID asked the question: “Are you sure you’ll manage in the big city?” I gave a quick laugh before correcting him that my hometown, however small, is actually a city.


After exchanging a few comments about trains and pubs in the north, I had my photo taken and walked away with a shiny new ID card.


It did get me thinking though. My hometown is surrounded by countryside and nature.


Most of my school friends were farmers and horse girls and the closest thing to a high street we had was the Edinburgh Woollen Mill and Yorkshire Trading. Whilst I do miss having easy access to rolling fields and long dog walks, Sheffield is packed with beautiful parks and gardens.


Living in the city centre, I have loved experiencing everything on my doorstep. Within minutes, I could be wandering the farmer’s market, fighting crowds in Primark, or sipping cocktails outside.


I would definitely recommend setting time aside to explore, and even get lost, in a new city.


With a valid student card, buses across Sheffield are just £1.20. I have found both buses and trams to be really accessible, taking you from A to B in minutes. This could take you to the incredible cafes and shops in Broomhill, a day out ice-skating, or a trip to IKEA to stock up on essentials.


The simplest way to settle into a new crowd is to be open to meeting new people. It can be difficult to put yourself out there, but you will meet so many new people at university who could become your friends for life (or at least share their notes from the class you missed!)


It’s easy to want to go straight home after classes, but why not join the group going to the pub or join that taster session you saw advertised?


Most importantly: relax. Moving to a new city will always be daunting, but it will bring so many new opportunities and good times to be had. Be easy on yourself and give yourself credit for the huge feat of starting fresh in a new city.


You’ve got this!


Edited by Charlotte Smith

48 views0 comments
bottom of page