top of page
  • Miriam Kuepper

The effect of Brexit on international students

Prior to Brexit, the UK had the Erasmus Programme as well as the same fees for home students and EU students. With Brexit now coming into effect, these have both changed. As an EU student, my masters will suddenly cost me more than double the fee, without any hope for a student loan.

Whilst on my year abroad in Sheffield - which was rudely interrupted by the pandemic - I fell in love with the university. I knew I had found the perfect place to study for my Masters. Back then, I still thought it would be “just” about £10,000 for my MA. Even back in June 2020, most information regarding EU students starting their studies (undergrad or postgrad) in September 2021 wasn’t released yet. Although, we were told that we weren’t eligible for home fee status anymore, meaning the Journalism Masters I intended to apply for was now more than double the fee at most universities. I thought: “There’s still student loans – it will fine.” Oh boy, was I wrong.

Settlement scheme

Other EU students including myself, were advised to apply to the Settlement Scheme to enable us to return to the UK to study without a visa. Although I constantly postponed applying for it due to the pandemic, I finally applied in early December. I was granted pre-settled status, meaning I can live, work and study in the UK in the next five years and would have to apply for settled status after. The only condition is that I spend most of this time in the UK rather than in my home country. Those who were living in the UK for five years at the time of their application, were already given settled status.

It still remains uncertain on whether EU students with pre-settled or settled status would be granted home fees, although I’m not too hopeful.

No loans


Being granted a student loan prior to Brexit was not a problem for EU students. However, the loan is now only eligible for EU passport holders that have settled status; this doesn’t apply to most students who come to the UK alone after finishing school.

I am unable to get a student loan from the government. How do you tell your parents you need to pay more than £20,000 in fees and living costs for a year? You don’t, really. You rather beg them to please lend you loads of money to pay back over the next couple of years (or decades). I got another job and I am saving as much as possible whilst applying to every scholarship available to me. I am still apprehensive on whether that will be enough.

Similar to many British students wishing to have the opportunity of a year abroad with Erasmus, Brexit also crushed a lot of my hopes and dreams. To study and get a graduate job in the UK seems further away than ever for a lot of EU students with universities not having confirmed a few crucial points yet: who exactly falls under the exceptions to the no-home-fees rule? To be read everywhere is: “Details for 2021 entry will be confirmed soon”. I will apply nonetheless and see how the situation evolves leading up to September, finding myself in yet another uncertain and frankly unprecedented situation like so many others. Though one thing is for certain: with doubled fees, you will see a lot less EU students studying in the UK, hence harming the diverse international community at British universities.


Edited by Pia Cooper


34 views0 comments
bottom of page