top of page
  • Abbie Howell

'That girl' – toxic positivity or role model?

Updated: Mar 25, 2022

In mainstream society there has always been an iteration of 'that girl'; she’s trendy, smart and talented, all without even trying. From the ‘it girls’ of the 90s to the influencers of today, girls and women have been inspired by everyone from Winona Ryder, to Kate Moss, to Kylie Jenner.

But current access to social media has given us a whole new way to model our lives after somebody else’s, to show us a successful person who is just like us! It makes us think this is who we could be if we were committed to working on our success.


Any search of the term #ThatGirl on TikTok graces your screen with hundreds of videos of people living in a way that is seemingly perfect. Runway-ready girls waking up in their spotless, minimalist houses; doing yoga with the rising sun (in an outfit which seems to be sponsored by Gymshark); eating entirely plant-based and healthy meals, all the while completing University or working a job - or both!


If you are a person who - like most of society - tends to compare their success to what appears to be the ‘perfect’ life that others lead on social media, then this trend may leave a toxic impression. When we consume content, we must ask ourselves the question: will seeing this benefit me or harm me?


For someone with low motivation or mental health issues, this trend of filtering entire lives through a filter of positivity may leave a false impression that they are doing something wrong with their own lives. Even when this is simply not true, in a world that is already hidden behind phone screens and hundreds of edited pictures, could this trend be considered toxic positivity? In certain circumstances, yes.


However, as a person who can really struggle with motivation, I really love watching content from the trend and use it to compare if I’m using my day to benefit me in a healthy way. If I see a video on my Instagram where #ThatGirl is used, rather than thinking: ‘Oh, her life looks so much better than mine! She gets up so early, I must be wasting my day,’ I like to think about how to implement a positive change for my own health.


I may not be getting up at 5am every morning, but #ThatGirl encourages me to get out of bed at a reasonable time and make the changes that are right for me.


Edited by Michelle Almeida

bottom of page