top of page
  • Lia Freeman

Struggling to get back to your university routine? Here are some tips to help you!

Updated: Feb 22, 2022

After the holiday festivities and a few weeks of exam season, it can be challenging to settle back to the routine of the regular semester. Here are some suggestions to help ease you into the first couple of weeks in semester two.

Preparing for Class


Reading the syllabus before lectures begin, making sure you have all the necessary materials, and doing any pre-lecture work can make all the difference for stress levels when things are gearing up again. Also, getting a fresh set of coloured pens or highlighters can add a bit of fun to starting work. Muji is one of my new favourite brands for stationary.


Meal Prepping


I am not one for cooking, but I recently had the chance to try a free shipment of recipes from the meal subscription service HelloFresh. Not only did it give me great recipe inspiration aside from my usual and boring pasta, but it also set me up for a productive couple of days to have my dinners already made. I probably won’t stick to a meal subscription service because shopping on your own can be cheaper, but it did motivate me to try new recipes and cook with my future self in mind. Try researching easy recipes before your weekly shop and set aside sometime each week to cook.


Explore New Things


A new semester also means a fresh start and the opportunity to get involved with things you have not done before. Try out a new club or society and say yes to joining activities while you have the time. I recently joined my friend for a few classes with the boxing society. While I normally never would have considered boxing, I ended up really enjoying it and plan to include it in my workout schedule.


Down Time


It can be tempting to throw yourself back into university life at 100% capacity but give yourself some grace during the transition. Now is when most students have a little extra time to do things they love, such as reading for pleasure, going to the pub with friends, and developing new hobbies. It can be helpful to schedule some personal time or set a goal for one thing you will do for yourself each week.


Also, remember that taking time to yourself is important all semester, not just in the transition.


Good luck with the semester ahead!


Edited by Michelle Almeida

bottom of page