top of page
  • Issy Wright

Sticking to new routines: Advice on how to reach your goals

Updated: Oct 4, 2023

Every year we create new goals for ourselves, whether this be sticking to a

new daily routine or learning a language. But sometimes we have absolutely no idea where to start, and eventually, we give up on our goals.


I have had this experience for the majority of my life. Sitting in my bed I would

think, “I’ll do it next week” or “Maybe I’ll try it tomorrow”. I lacked motivation,

and the thought of starting something new was daunting.


However, with research, trial, and error, I began integrating what I learnt into

my lifestyle, and soon saw my goals within my reach. I am sharing my advice

in hopes that I can encourage you to take your first steps towards reaching

your goal. Here are my tips for starting and maintaining a new routine:


1) Make realistic goals.


When starting a new goal, hobby, or habit, we can often make it too complex. This is when the pressure of starting new routines begins. I found planning these goals and finding simpler ways to approach these new challenges is what will motivate you.


2) Break it down into smaller tasks


This can be in the form of to-do lists, how you spend your time in a day, or weekly planning. By minimising bigger goals into smaller tasks, they appear less daunting. You now have action steps and ticking off smaller tasks as you complete them will feel rewarding as you’re working towards your goal at your own pace.


3) Track your habits


This is a way of seeing how far you’ve come and finding where you can improve. It can act as a source of motivation to see how much you’ve achieved.


4) Have patience


It is easy to be hard on yourself when you don’t achieve what you want, however you must remember it is a process and you will find the right way to approach your tasks over time.


5) Reward yourself


As you start to see results, treat yourself! Whether that be having your favourite meal or treating yourself to something nice.


Edited by Caitlin Hart

10 views0 comments
bottom of page