top of page
  • Melissa M-J

OPINION: Why you should boycott Black Friday

Updated: Dec 9, 2021

Black Friday has been and gone, money has been spent and Jeff Bezos might as well jet off to the Bahamas until next year. While many have already moved on to the next money grabbing tradition, like opening the first few doors on their advent calendars (high chances these are also from a certain online retailer that rhymes with scam-azon). I’ve taken it upon myself to reflect on these ‘deals’ many have fallen victim to.


I’m unsure if it’s just me, hopefully someone can relate, but there are clothes that have gone literally untouched in my wardrobe. Then I ask myself: Why do I have them? And the answer simply is that I’ve fallen for the ways to the black Friday sales, only to realise a few months later, that the top isn’t as cute as the price tag was.


I don’t know who needs to hear this, but it’s no longer considered a bargain if you don’t wear it.


A deal or not a deal? That is the question. Research has been conducted over the years investigating the validity of these ‘deals’ and one recent discovery stood out to me. The company ‘Which?’, who promote informed customer choice, found that out of the 119 items they monitored over the six months leading up to black Friday, 3 items were at their lowest price on the day. That’s only 1 per cent!


Black Friday feels like a very fitting name. one would say it’s a dark day for the environment.


I’m sure by now you’ve heard the term ‘fast fashion’ being used increasingly in the media as progress is being made and more people’s attention is being brought to the effects of shopping unsustainably.


When it comes to shopping online, I’m sure you’re now aware of the impact it has on the environment already: from the energy used to mass produce the garment or that used to get it from the factory to your front door on next day delivery.


So next time you go to buy your ‘pretty little thing’ remember that at the rate were consuming, there is nothing ‘pretty’ about Black Friday.


Edited by Maddy Burgess

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page