top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie Wheatley

OPINION: We shouldn’t feel the pressure to change our style every new year

Updated: Dec 16, 2021

There’s an undeniable pressure to want to change every aspect of ourselves as each new year begins – and style is no exception. As you get older and trends you thought would withstand the test of time become outdated, revamping your wardrobe at every given opportunity becomes more appealing.


But why shouldn't we cave to this pressure?


As each year passes, I’ve become more self-assured in my sense of style and have less desire to conform to the trends. Once you realise trends are temporary and developing a capsule wardrobe full of items you can continue to wear for years to come is key, you’ll be on the road to finding your personal style in no time.


Being as sustainable as possible has become increasingly important to me. I’ve found greater satisfaction in unpacking last season’s jumpers than purchasing new ones. Finding new ways to style garments to suit what you like at that particular moment in time is an unmatched feeling – but finding 30 ways to style something still remains a pipe dream I admire every time I see it on TikTok.


In 2022, instead of dressing to please others and wearing what society deems to be trendy, I aspire to dress in ways that make me feel happy and comfortable. I look forward to continuing to learn how to dress to suit my body to make me feel as confident as possible. The desired body shape, like clothing, changes as quick as the wind – and why should one be liked more than others?


If there’s anything you take forward into the new year, let it be that your style is yours – and yours alone. No one has the power to dictate what you can and can’t wear and when you should change your fashion sense, especially just because the last digit of the year has changed.


Edited by Miette Dsouza

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page