top of page
  • Aditi Rane

My 2021 fashion resolutions

Thrift more


It’s becoming increasingly easy to find amazing items in thrift stores. Sheffield boasts its own on Division Street, but the online market is also expanding quickly. However, personally, I’m not a fan of rummaging through piles of clothes for one item, only to find it’s too big or small. For me, Depop and Vestiaire have their own charm, making it easy to scroll through reams of clothing. Thrifting found its way into my life in 2020 and I endeavour to do it more next year.


Expand my reading


This year taught us the importance of diversifying our perspectives, and I’d like to apply these to my fashion habits too. Admittedly, I’m guilty of reading the same few fashion magazines month after month, but I’d like to change that. There are many publications which amplify the voices and designs of BAME people. However, these often go unnoticed. In 2021 gal-dem, Black Ballad, Burnt Roti and Skin Deep will be at the top of my reading list.


Declutter my wardrobe


As my four years at university are slowly creeping to an end, I’ll be decluttering my wardrobe at the start of next year. I’ve fallen out of love with a lot of the pieces which are taking up valuable wardrobe space – I’m looking at my Emma-Chamberlain-inspired brown teddy coat in particular. They could easily be rehomed and of better use to someone else.


Dress up, even if you’re at home


I’m hoping video calls soon become a thing of the past, but in the case they don’t, I’ll be kicking the habit of only dressing up on my top half and staying in my PJ bottoms. Despite the fact I’m slowly becoming incapable of putting outfits together, it makes it way too easy for me to slip back into bed after a Zoom meeting.


Whatever your New Year’s Resolutions may be, now’s the time to make a change. If there’s something you’ve been waiting to do, there’s no time like the present.


Edited by Katie Wheatley

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page