top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle Almeida

Lockdown confessions: Beauty edition

Being locked up indoors opens up the opportunity to try out things one would only think of. While being under lockdown due to the coronavirus, some decided to use their days in solitary productively, experimenting in some disastrous (and favourable) beauty treatments.


Sahima Chawla, third-year law student at the University of Leeds



"I'm very particular about my hair, and I frequently get haircuts to keep split ends at a minimum. Due to lockdown, every salon was closed, and with the spare time in hand, I would keep fussing over the split ends on my hair.


So I decided to take matters into my own hand and snip the ends myself. While cutting my hair, I tried to level the length, but it just wouldn't happen, and I ended up with an unruly bob cut!! Thankfully I was locked in my room, praying that my hair would grow back as fast as possible."


Hannah Fulcher, second-year journalism student at the University of Sheffield



"I've been self-conscious of my eyebrows for a while. Especially for work, Since I had to spend quite some time doing my makeup, I would wake up early. I'd been debating on getting my eyebrows' nano-bladed' for ages, and one (lockdown) morning, I just woke up and decided to go for it!



The treatment was better than I dreamed. It's been three months since I got them done, and I've worn makeup only five times since. I feel confident without makeup for the first time in my life, and I wouldn't hesitate to say it's changed my life!"


Kashish Gopwani, third-year economics and finance student at Durham University


"I've been debating getting an upper lip wax for a while since I hate having facial hair. The lockdown was the perfect time to experiment. I ordered a few facial waxing strips and went through the painful process myself.


That was self-torture.


What's worse was the acne that broke out right after, and I couldn't stand the thought of a pink moustache. I had read that applying your saliva rids acne very quickly. Long story short, I did it for an entire month, and it did nothing. I can't believe I spent that time with spit on my face."


Edited by Lauren Wilkins

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page