top of page
  • Sharleen Tauringana

Keeping in touch with friends at home

I’m a postgraduate student and I moved to Sheffield in September after being in Essex for 3 years for my undergraduate. I know what it is like to move away from home; having to

navigate a new city and meet new friends, all whilst balancing keeping in contact with the

old ones.


I personally lost a close friend one year into my undergraduate. At the time it didn’t feel like a big loss, and I thought we’d be friends again, but years later I realise I didn’t put enough

effort in to show her that I also cared about our friendship. It makes sense now that we

aren't friends; we are completely different, and I can’t see the friendship working in the

same way. We speak occasionally and are civil towards each other and that’s okay. Moving

away for university will be a test for a lot of friendships, and the start of a lot more.


A friendship is a two-way street; maybe your friend isn’t the calling or texting type, and they show their friendship in a different way. Maybe they’re always there to celebrate your

achievements and make sure to visit you when they can. It's important to recognise the

ways your friends make an effort, even if it isn’t in the most obvious of ways. One thing that you could try is sharing a Google calendar to check when you're all free.


It can be extremely daunting moving to a new city or country and not knowing many people (if any), but look at it as an opportunity to meet people you wouldn’t ordinarily pair yourself with. The great thing about most universities is that they are a mixing pot of cultures and personalities that blend. Get involved in clubs and societies that you enjoy; this is the best way to meet people outside your lectures. Even if there isn’t a sport or society you like, go to a meeting, and see what comes of it. And don’t be discouraged by the fact that we’re in the second term, joining clubs and societies isn’t just for freshers' week. And remember, you’ll never be alone in feeling anxious about meeting new people.



Edited by Caitlin Hart

10 views0 comments
bottom of page