top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Duff

Is Greggs x Primark the collection we didn't know we needed?

Updated: Feb 24, 2022

As a Geordie, I have many mixed feelings about the Primark x Greggs collaboration – and, thankfully, a lot of opinions on this very serious matter.


Being from Newcastle, it’s a legality to love Greggs and indeed I do. It’s affordable, it’s filling and with there being one on every street – it’s accessible. I’m filled with Northern pride just thinking about it.


In fact, everywhere but London (shocker), would pick Greggs as their go-to lunch.


The brand has previously dabbled in Christmas jumpers and pin badges, but a full clothing collection? That’s a big project but thankfully not one that needs to be done tastefully - in fact, this may be the only time where ‘the tackier the better’ could apply.


Primark have a reputation for their unnecessary slogan placements and I have a feeling this collection will be the same. Funny? Definitely. But wearable? Probably not. The location of logos and pasty graphics will be very important. I can’t speak for you but to have the big blue Greggs logo on my arse isn’t really the fashion I go for - we’ll save that exclusively for Juicy Couture. However, pyjamas? Yes, please.


I also feel that a big Greggs logo t-shirt may be easier to get your hands on if you were to be employed by Greggs themselves.


Having sold out within a matter of hours over the weekend, I have a feeling this collection will become resale items going for £40+ on Ebay rather than being loved by a genuine Greggs fanatic. In fact, the bucket hats already sell online for more than 3x their initial value. Maybe this demonstrates our love of Greggs as a nation? Or potentially our love of needless buying with “collectables” being code for wasteful hoarding.


One of the items in this release is shoes, including Greggs branded trainers and slides. These seem to be the most wearable items I’ve seen but I can’t help but think about their lifespan. Primark aren’t exactly renowned for their product quality and shoes are definitely the items to take the most damage. But which is worse, hoarding it to sell online for profit or making use of the items that are most likely to be worn out in a few months?


I also want to remind you that these products come at such a low price not only due to their poor quality but most importantly their skewed ethics. Fast fashion and underpaid workers are never acceptable - even in the name of an exclusive Greggs matching underpants and socks combo.


Although, I do also understand the brand is sometimes the only accessible clothing for budgets and to have a fun brand like Greggs join in could potentially be the affordable treat some people need to cheer themselves up.


On a more serious note, this collaboration has meant Birmingham is home to the largest Greggs in the UK as of Feb 12th - and I am not happy. This is due to Primark opening a giant Greggs within their Birmingham premises. We have a Primark in Newcastle too!


In my opinion, I think they should spend their time working on a vegan Yum Yum, not going in the opposite direction and feeding into a fast fashion lifestyle. However, if Greggs were to release homeware, then I’d be all over that. Sausage roll rug? An essential. surely.


Edited by Maddy Burgess

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page