top of page
  • Victoria Sales

Give charity shopping a chance

Believe it or not, some of my most loved items of clothing were found in charity shops. Long before TikTok promoted thrift shops as a healthy and acceptable alternative to fast fashion, I was searching through clothing rails to find cute and quirky outfits in my local British Heart Foundation store. Attempting to manage university on a student budget is hard, but these shops have given me an affordable place to rely on for fashion.


I am here to debunk your previous negative perceptions of charity shops and expose you to some of the great finds you can get your hands on. Sustainable, cheap and your money is going towards a good cause, the pros are non-negotiable! Here are some of the items of clothing I managed to find just before the second lockdown.


Item 1: Faux Fur Coat - £8


I got this gorgeous coat from a charity shop in my hometown in Bedfordshire. It is such a staple piece and I have never seen anything quite like it before. The beauty of charity shopping is that you are unlikely to see others in the same clothes as you.

Item 2: White Blazer - £3


I have worn this blazer countless times since I purchased it, as it is such a transitional piece. You can dress it up or down and it looks great. Why would I pay £20 or more for a blazer like this when I can find one in a charity shop?

Item 3: Cream Blazer - £3.50


I found this blazer in a Sheffield charity shop, brand new with the original tags from PrettyLittleThing. How could I say no?

Item 4: Adidas Cardigan - £4


If I got one of these brand new I am sure it would have cost the same as a weekly shop. However, once again, the Sheffield charity shops came through and I copped this steal!

Item 5: Genuine Leather Jacket - £10


Last but not least, my favourite purchase out of everything I have bought recently. This jacket was affordable considering it is real leather and I am, without a doubt, in love with it. Leather is so on trend at the moment and charity shops almost always have a few leather pieces in there for a fraction of the price you would buy them brand new.

That’s a wrap! As you can see, you do not have to buy things brand new to have lovely clothes. I hope I have inspired you to have a quick look round your local charity shops when you are next in town. Remember, your money is going to a great cause.


Edited by Katie Wheatley

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page