top of page
  • Lucy Lillystone

From one student to another: top tips to stay calm during this stressful exam period

Ah, it’s that time of the year again. The exam period. Just the word ‘exam’ has my stomach tightening in knots. I look to my left and there’s that awful sticky note with the massive to do list of all the revision I still have to do.


Every student feels the stress of exams, the pressure. Coupled with a global pandemic where many of us are forced to study in our bedrooms rather than the safety valve of the library or a café, where we can only leave the house to go to Tesco or for our daily walk or exercise… we’re under more pressure than ever before.


It’s totally understandable to feel a little bit of anxiety at the looming assessments.

While a little stress can be a good thing: it can be the motivational push that we need to get things done, too much stress can be detrimental. Now in my fourth year of University as a postgraduate, I’m here to rescue you with my top tips to help you through this stressful exam period.


Get yourself into a routine


Pulling all-nighters, surviving on a poor diet of left-over Christmas chocolate and a LOT of caffeine does not help. It’s important that you get your body into a routine and get at least 8 hours of sleep a night to revitalise you for the next days work. It’s also important that you take time out of studying to have a proper lunch. Put your cooking skills to the test and take this time to treat your body to a much needed food break; don’t forget lots of water.


Set realistic goals


There’s nothing more stressful and daunting than a long list of things you need to revise. You need to put things into perspective. To do this, I recommend a study timetable. Anyone who knows me can tell you I am almost obsessive in my planning, but I promise you, separating your tasks into daily to-do lists will help you prioritise your time. The best thing is when you can tick off the stuff as you complete it – it gives you that small sense of achievement, a feeling that there is light at the end of the tunnel.


Say no to social media


Checking the latest updates on Instagram or Twitter is not productive at all. It’s the worst type of procrastination possible and will definitely stress you out more with news from the new lockdown tiers or the latest Trump-disaster in America.


One way I’ve managed to switch off from my phone is through the Forest App. This allows you to essentially ‘build trees’ by setting a study timer. Once that timer is set, you can’t go off the app or it will sadly kill your precious little tree. Not only does this feel like you’re being extra productive by helping the environment but it allows you to manage your study time, avoiding the dreadful burn out by working non-stop. Which leads me onto my next point…


Take regular breaks


Yes. I know. Everyone always says it. “Take a break!” “You need a break!” And you think “I don’t have time!” But you do. You really do. If you don’t take regular breaks then you’ll end up burning yourself out, not even processing the work you’re doing.


Move away from that study space, go for a walk, listen to a podcast, maybe even put a YouTube video on! I recommend Mike’s Mic– he’s unique but he never fails to make me laugh. It’s this time that will allow your brain to process everything it’s learnt and re-energise itself fresh for when you start again.


Listen to music


If many of you, like myself, are studying from home and are easily getting distracted by their family and background sounds, grab a good pair of headphones, and play some music while studying.


Personally, I struggle to listen to any music with lyrics on it and if this is the case for you too, I recommend instrumental piano music or Lo-fi (Spotify has a wonderful playlist called Closed on Sunday Radio!). This will help you relax, sharpening your focus without the distraction of Dua Lipa’s heavy beat.


Don’t forget that you are not alone – your friends are going through the exact same thing so when the stress gets too much, reach out. Watch a film, do, dare I say it, a zoom quiz.


But remember, you have got this!


Edited by Pia Cooper



28 views0 comments
bottom of page