top of page
  • Courtney Wood

A brief history of Zimbabwean traditional outfits

Growing up as a first-generation Zimbabwean in Birmingham, I was grateful to experience the rich cultural diversity all around me. However, one thing that piqued my curiosity within the wider African community was the fact that cultural outfits had significant importance - but I did not remember growing up with that emphasis.


Looking through family photo albums, I also noticed my parents mostly wore western clothing which I imagine closely followed American fashion trends at the time. This provoked me to do some research of my own, to work out the reasons for the lack of unifying cultural wear in Zimbabwe.

From left to right: a picture of my mom (white pants) and her friend, my grandmother (middle) with her friends), and my parents together all from the 90s to the early 2000s.


The impact of colonialism on Zimbabwean fashion


From the late 1800’s to 1980, Zimbabwe was occupied by a British colony; at this time, it was called Rhodesia. With the British, came western clothing brought from the global north.


However, prior to this, Zimbabwe was made up of different kingdoms with different people inhabiting the country including the Khoisan and the Shona. There are 16 official languages in Zimbabwe displaying the sheer diversity in the culture; some of them being Shona, Ndebele, Xhosa, and Sotho, although English is used as a bridge language. This explains why there isn’t one national style of clothing because different ethnic groups had different practices. In order to have a traditional outfit, an agreement would have to be reached by the several cultural groups within Zimbabwe. However, there are a few shared similarities amongst them including the wearing of headdresses, wraparound clothes and jewellery. Traditional wear is usually saved for important celebrations and ceremonies including state affairs like Independence Day.


What does this mean for the future of cultural wear?


The current president of Zimbabwe, Mnangagwa, launched a national outfit last year in Harare at a State House event. This was done to strengthen a shared identity across Zimbabwe and promote it globally. The new national clothing reflects the national flag with a soap bird print and green and yellow colouring.


Although, I would say otherwise. Having a top-down approach and view of what fashion unites the country actually has the opposite effect. The choice for national outfits should be inclusive of the wider population. Zimbabwe is home to talented designers, knowledgeable in the significance of patterns, symbols and designs which are important aspects of cultures. New stylistic choices by young designers can create a new identity that Zimbabwean people can identify with - one that is free from colonial thinking and is rooted in a sense of pride within the country that comes from unique innovation. There are already young people pioneering this work including Bakari Sibanda who designs African print backpacks.


I think of my African earrings, headwrap, and dashiki and how I wear them with pride whilst remembering my heritage and the past. I then think of the current small businesses creating beautiful African clothing and how I so desperately want to see even more visibility of Zimbabwean culture in the future.


Edited by Miette Dsouza

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page