top of page
  • Tia Xiourouppas

5 fashion trends I can’t stand

Updated: Mar 6, 2022

My feelings on different fashion trends come and go in waves, but there are a few pieces of clothing that I truly cannot, and will not, get behind. Recently, I have made the decision to stop giving into micro trends, and instead work out what my true personal style is – I want form opinions on clothing based solely on my fashion sense, not society's dress code.


Some of the clothes and trends I’ll go on to mention may be perfect for others – but the beauty of fashion is that it's completely unique to everyone.


Low Waisted Jeans


A Y2K staple, fashion legend, and overall controversial piece. This item of clothing really has withstood the test of time. In almost every decade of fashion, we see low-rise jeans as a recurring stand-out item. Don't get me wrong, they can look absolutely incredible when styled correctly… but just not on me. Learning to dress for my body type has changed the way I view clothing, and low rise jeans just don't make me feel confident – and so you'll never find a pair of these in my wardrobe.


Double Denim


Love it or hate it, double denim is an extremely difficult trend to pull off correctly. Wearing double denim without looking like you've been conquered by a Levis store is a difficult task to master, especially when the two shades of denim are the same. An 80s staple, but will never be a staple for me.


Ugg Boots


For some reason, Ugg boots are slowly creeping back into fashion. They have featured in shoe stores all over the UK and I honestly do not know why this is happening. They have a distinct 2014-esque look and I personally think they ruin every outfit. Why would I pay that much to look like I haven’t even tried with my look? They’re so impractical for UK weather too. The only acceptable variation of Ugg shoes, in my opinion, are the sliders.


‘BBL Fashion’


This term has been coined recently by the internet for a specific type of clothing which is particularly revealing and accentuates certain parts of your body. While this look can be really desirable for some, it is not my cup of tea. I tend to go for baggy and oversized clothing, so these tight and revealing outfits just don't fit into my style. I think this trend will die out fairly quickly and is not worth investing in.


Crocs


You might hate me for this one, but I cannot bear to look at Crocs. The nostalgia is one thing, but the way they ruin outfits is just inexcusable in my eyes.


Edited by Miette Dsouza

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page