top of page
  • Sabrina Ayles

The power of practicing yoga and mindfulness

Updated: Oct 18, 2022

Around 2 years ago, I was sitting on my carpeted floor in my flat, following along to Yoga with Adriene on YouTube and accidentally paid £49.99 for Headspace. Now, in my third year of uni, I sit on an equally discoloured carpeted floor and do my morning meditations and stretches.


I turned to yoga and mindfulness in a time of high stress and anxiety, with practising now having become comparable to brushing my teeth. It’s something I do out of habit, mindlessly and intuitively, to regulate my health and wellbeing.


Yoga is a highly spiritual, physical and mental practise that originates from ancient India, the exact time period being much debated. Its purpose throughout history is self-realisation, to overcome all kinds of suffering, with the word yoga deriving from the Sanskrit root ‘yuj', translating to ‘to unite’.


It remains a science which has transcended time, that we as humans practise to counterbalance the stressful pace of modern life. When we have a million things to worry about, several hundred things to do, it keeps us grounded and in the present moment.


We feel a change, both physically and mentally, when we practise yoga. Something awakens within you; you aren’t thinking about your next deadline, you’re feeling your body. You’re focusing on your breathing as you momentarily surrender yourself to the practice of yoga. You are left feeling centred, rejuvenated and motivated to tackle daily tasks with a clearer mindset.


The accessibility of yoga also contributes to its popularity. You can practice it alone, or with a group of people. Setting aside simply 5 minutes away from your studies allows you to reset your mind, empowering you to perform with a greater quality and efficiency. It is an activity of flexible commitment and effort, that we can now access via one click.


Fundamentally, it teaches us that we are allowed to relax in the midst of our daily chaos. I recommend yin or hatha yoga, my two favourite slow-paced practices that you can follow online or via the yoga society.


For meditation I recommend Headspace (they offer an 85% student discount so don’t make the same mistake I did paying full price). Embrace a slower tempo of life and allow your heart to open up to peace and harmony.

Edited by Olivia Warburton

bottom of page