top of page
  • Lucy Vincent

The albums that have helped me survive lockdown

COVID-19 has completely changed our lives. Many young people have faced months of lonely isolation sat behind computer screens in an unfamiliar and fast-changing environment. University students are now facing new restrictions and with many of us alone and away from home for the first time, music can be a great escape.

Harry Styles – Harry Styles

Harry Styles’ ‘Fine Line’ has been a huge hit since its release last September. However it’s his first album, ‘Harry Styles’, that I find myself playing on repeat for hours. I feel like this particular album didn’t get the love it deserved when making its debut in 2017. A mixture of rock and soft rock, his album offers some great tracks such as ‘Kiwi’, ‘From the Dining Room Table’ and ‘Sweet Creature’. I find myself playing his album during moments where I feel unmotivated and out of touch from reality. Harry really is a beautiful lyricist and you can hear that within every song on this album. As well as his different influences from Stevie Nicks to Van Morrison, I recommend you check this album out, especially if you are a fan of songs from ‘Fine Line’.

Sadnecessary – Milky Chance

Despite the name ‘Sadnecessary’, Milky Chance always leaves you feeling nostalgic and longing for the moments we took for granted in the past. I often find myself scrolling through my snapchat memories when listening to this album and reflect on just how much I have achieved, especially during the months at the start of the year pre-COVID. I think it is important to reflect on our own personal accomplishments during lockdown, no matter how big or small and I would highly recommend doing this to any of Milky Chances' songs. My personal favourites are ‘Stolen Dance’ and ‘Down By the River’, two classics which never fail to make me feel reminiscent.

Chanel Orange – Frank Ocean

I was only recently introduced to Frank Ocean by my flat mate and his ‘Chanel Orange’ album is something I wish I had discovered earlier. Each song is completely unique and listening to this album on repeat has occupied my time whilst settling into University. My Father brought me up listening to soul music and Frank Ocean is a perfect mix of R&B and Neo Soul, ideal to relax and work to. Being isolated in my room, I find it hard to stay motivated and active but there is just something about Frank Ocean’s voice that makes me want to get up each morning.

Lungs – Florence + The Machine

I recently added every single song off Florence’s album ‘Lungs’ back to my playlists as I used to love listening to the album when I was younger. Although playing her music now is bittersweet, there is something comforting about her voice. Her song ‘You’ve Got the Love’ is my go-to lockdown song, especially when I feel like giving up. I still find myself on my feet dancing every time. Her music is traditional, which makes for a really unique listening experience. I would recommend listening to ‘Kiss with a Fist’ and ‘Hurricane Drunk’ to begin with.

Edited by Hannah Youds

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page