top of page
  • Mel Milsom

Switching to shampoo bars for a life with less plastic

I want you to think of your go to meal deal drink choice. What about your favourite body wash? Or shampoo? Now I want you to think about how many plastic bottles you've come in contact with just today.


This is where shampoo and body bars come into play. My switch to shampoo bars from bottles means I feel good about more product and less waste.


But where do you start? You don't have to compromise the function of your products when you swap to a bar. It's important to remember what you want from your products. Whether that's colour protection or hydration. A product to defrizz or build hair strength. There's plenty of options.


Once you've made the swap, your next concern might be how it works. As anticlimactic as it is, it works exactly the same! It lathers up into a smooth and bubbly paste which you work into your hair how you usually would.


Since I made the change, I've realised my product goes a lot further than before. Whether you lather it into your hand or directly onto your hair, say goodbye to hair wash mishaps and dropping your product into the abyss of the shower floor.


Here are my personal recommendations for the best shampoo bar to get started with:


Lush ‘Honey i washed my hair’ shampoo - This is one of my personal favourites. It is super hydrating and smells so good I could eat it.


Another Lush best seller ‘James and the argon oil’ - This bar combines natural argan oils with a rose scent which leaves your hair looking shiny and smelling amazing.


Another winner in my eyes is anything from KinKind. The brand's ethos is all about reducing waste while still prioritising looking after your hair and skin.


Edited by Olivia Warburton



bottom of page