top of page
  • Swathi Paul

Sustainable Beauty Basics




This is Mani! Mani is taking a nap because he is tired of asking people to use less plastic and consume less. As Mani's parent, I have made the shift to more sustainable beauty products.


Here are my absolute favorites:






Lush: New Shampoo Bar - RRP £8.00/50gms.


The year 2019 was not kind to my hair. My hair started to thin out and seemed frizzy and dry, no matter what. This little shampoo bar from Lush was my saviour. I was a bit sceptical about whether the product would last when I purchased it. But I was pleasantly surprised because it lasted me nearly five months! Just a few strokes of the bar on your wet hair creates a rich lather that cleans your scalp and leaves your hair smelling amazing. I noticed a visible difference in the quality of my hair, as well. This bar is also vegan and cruelty-free and comes in funky paper packaging.



I'm going to call this soap "magic eraser" for my pigmentation. As a WoC, this soap has worked wonders for my skin. My tired, hormonal 30-year-old skin feels rejuvenated and healthy. This product is 100% handmade and produced in small batches. I love the mild smell of the product and how it seems to last forever. This soap comes in chic cardboard packaging, and the brand promotes a zero-waste policy.



If you are a natural deodorant sceptic, you need to try this nifty little product that comes in an aluminium tin. I'm addicted to the Black pepper and Sandalwood deodorant. This deodorant doesn't offer you 48h sweat-free protection by saturating your skin with chemicals. However, the natural ingredients leave your skin feeling softer and smelling fresh. For people used to roll on deodorants, a solid deodorant might feel a bit different (to use) at first, but eventually, you get used to it. Try this deodorant if you are looking for a skin-friendly option to smell fresh.


Sustainable options are essential to protect the environment. These are just a few products that I live by. Not only are these products sustainable, but also perfect for those on a budget.



Edited by: Michelle Almeida

bottom of page