top of page
  • Nicole Calogero

My look book for a busy Valentine's Day

Updated: Feb 15, 2022

Valentine’s Day is a celebration sprinkled with happiness. Everyone, well in advance, seems to anticipate what joys the fourteenth of February will bring. Stores dedicate entire sections to love-related gifts, and restaurants take great care in advertising special Valentine's deals.

The spirit of love does not escape university life either, with plenty of societies organising events around the ever-so fateful day. Whether you have something planned out, or nothing at all, this as an opportunity to treat yourself with a stylish look.


This year, Valentine’s Day falls on a Monday – my busiest day of the week – and so I will have no time to stay at home and spend hours getting ready. The best solution here is to arrive at university already prepared in my lovely look. This Valentine’s holds special significance to me and so I'm taking care to look my best.


Since I will be in lectures for most of the day, it is important to avoid anything that

will make me feel overdressed, but generally, a formal look never disappoints.


You can never go wrong with the classic combination of a suit and trouser set. The shoe choice should also not be underestimated – what you wear on your feet could make or break your outfit.


Adding to the spirit of the celebration, take time to do your makeup and hair. A discrete yet cute look should do the job, especially if you have an early start and limited time to prepare. To spice up the look, you could wear matching  lipstick and nails. If you're into jewellery, wearing statement pieces can really elevate the look.


When it comes to my hairstyle, I will be wearing something long-lasting and won't make me feel overdressed in a lecture. My personal favourite is straightening my hair, as it requires minimal effort but still looks classy and put together.


Even though I'm making an effort with my look this Valentine's Day, it's important to note there is no obligation to look, dress, or feel too fancy for the occasion – what matters most is feeling comfortable and confident.


Edited by Tia Xiourouppas

bottom of page