top of page
  • Casey Peyton

Mindfulness techniques for your day-to-day routine

In a university environment, it’s normal to feel overwhelmed and a little bit lost. Whether it’s missing home or being drowned in readings, it can become hard to navigate your days. Granted, I am no expert, however, I can share with you how I deal with stress, and what you need to implement into your routine to better your mind and soul.


This year, I have a newfound love for running, whether it’s in the morning or evening. Those 20 minutes of concentrating on simply putting one foot in front of the other, truly helps keep me sane. It's cliche I know, but it’s a form of moving meditation. For me, it isn’t about the speed of the run, it’s my own method of mindfulness that I implement into my routine. For you, this could be a small walk, or a dance even; anything that moves your body is another accomplishment you will have achieved that attends to self-love and self-care – something I value above all else when my brain gets foggy.


Hobbies hold so much value, and it’s easy to forget about them when an essay deadline is looming. But allocating a time of day to spend at least half an hour doing something you love, ensures you have the time to boost your mood. Think of it as a pause in the day, where focusing on your needs is the only task. Personally, reading is my number one, it’s my little reward to escape into another world when mine becomes too much. I 100% recommend trying a chapter a day, fiction or non-fiction, I believe everyone deserves a little bit of escapism in their life.


Being grounded is crucial for your mind, appreciating the casual magic around you is the key to finding stability within yourself. One fundamental aspect of my routine is journaling! I’m a sucker for stationary, and you can find the cutest designs that won’t cost you a lot. Or, it can be as easy as using a sticky note. Simply write your goals for the day, affirmations for self-love, and one thing you're grateful for. This encourages you to be present in the moment as you focus on your inner-self thoughts.


Putting positive energy into the world will only allow positivity to come your way. I can’t guarantee this will immediately result in an influx of bliss, but it will provide you with the stability needed to make your days that little bit better.


Edited by Nicole Collins

17 views0 comments
bottom of page