top of page
  • Miriam Kuepper

Managing sensitive skin and skincare

If you’ve ever had excessively dry or itchy skin, you know how hard it is to find skin care that doesn’t burn or increase the itchiness. After suffering from neurodermatitis, a form of atopic eczema, since I was born, I have tried countless different cremes and treatments over the years. Hopefully, the following list of my all-time-faves will help you to manage patches of dry skin or keep itchiness in check.


It’s no secret that your skin needs some attention every single day. This especially applies to sensitive and dry skin. As you will quickly see, I mainly use thermal-water-based products from La Roche-Posay or Avène as it calms the skin and reduces irritation.


Morning

The first thing I do every morning is use a cleanser (Avène Cleanance Hydra Cleansing Crème is my go-to at the moment) to prepare my skin and clean off any dirt or sweat left from the night before. If you are a shower-in-the-morning person (I’m not), the cleanser is great to use whilst you’re showering as it’s making less of a mess then. Additionally, I always use either a shower lotion or gel (like the Avène Body Gentle Shower Gel) on my body and a rich body balm or lotion afterwards – it always depends on how much time I have to let it sink in. I get to lounge around at home all day in my dressing gown at the moment anyway, so I tend to use either the La Roche-Posay Lipikar AP+ Balm or the Avène XeraCalm Balm to really nourish my dry skin. For when I have to be quick, I love the Dove Dermaspa Summer Revived body lotion as it sinks in quickly, gives my skin moisture and provides a naturally bronzed glow to my skin.

Before my make-up goes on, I use some Vitamin C first (and let it sink in for a bit whilst doing the rest). Afterwards, I use some kind of SPF; I'll use Toleraine Moisturiser with SPF in case I put makeup on top, or I directly use the Anthelios SPF 50 tinted Fluid (both from La Roche-Posay). The latter is especially great for those days I don’t feel like having make-up on my skin – or for a no-makeup makeup look! Top it off with some Thermal Water Spray used as a setting spray (this works wonders!) and you’re good to go.


Throughout the day

Everyone knows the drill: in winter, your hands get cold and start ripping up. The best counter-effort? Using high in-fat hand crèmes. My personal favourites are the Avène Cold Crème and Nutraplus (a recommendation from my dermatologist!).

Whenever I have an itchy spot I spray some Eucerin Atopi Control Spray on the patch, which helps it immediately. Most of the time, I have some proper dry patches showing up throughout the day and am in desperate need of some soothing crème, which is where my beloved La Roche-Posay Cicaplast Baume B5 balm comes in. If you take any product away from this article that you don’t want to live without, it’s this – nothing has ever worked that well for any skin problems you might have, may it be a scratch you want to heal quicker or some dry skin you want to care for.


Evening

There’s no better time to treat your skin than at night. First of all, I take off my make-up with the Toleraine Dermo-Cleanser, followed by the Micellar Water (both from La Roche-Posay). For smoky eyes, I additionally use some Toleraine Eye Make-up Remover. Afterwards, bring on the serums: I personally alternate between hyaluronic acid and retinol. Watch out though: when your skin gets irritated, use the serums less often or switch them out for a different one! Your serums should ideally go underneath your moisturiser as you want the ingredients to sink deeply into your skin. For the final step, I use my eye cream Hydraphase Intense and my moisturiser, which currently is the Toleraine Fluid as it gives my skin a glowy, nourished feel to it (both from La Roche-Posay). Other great moisturisers I’ve used over the years are the Avène Cleanance Hydra Soothing Crème or the Clinique iD Dramatically Different Jelly Base and Concentrate (which one you choose depends on your personal skin needs!). The latter works amazingly under make-up, too.


For skin care days

Other things to add to your routine (although not for every day!) are masks: Avène Cleanance, The Body Shop British Rose, L’Oréal Pure Clay or the Bioré Blue Agave, and Baking Soda Masks are something I couldn’t go without for more than a week. Although to be enjoyed in small doses, I like the occasional Face or Nose Strip by Bioré, especially the Witch Hazel ones.


Edited by Madeleine Gill

bottom of page