top of page
  • Madeleine Gill

Makeup looks and tips for fall

Updated: Oct 12, 2020

Whilst the meteorological calendar states that autumn officially starts on September the 1st, the 1st of October seems to be the date where autumn feels like it’s really begun.


And with summer now officially over, that means one thing- we no longer have to worry about our makeup melting off of our faces during the day!


No? Just me?


Whilst I love summer, autumn is a season that I can’t help but love. The crispy leaves, the hot chocolates, the ability to wear big fluffy coats again without having to take it off two minutes later due to over-heating- it’s just so cosy. And, with fall being as pretty as it is, you can draw tons of inspiration from it for your makeup and styling.


Now that autumn is in full swing, here are some makeup tips and looks to get you into that spiced latte mood.

Face:

Now that the colder weather has started to kick in again (although, let’s be honest, in England it’s constantly cold) we need to protect our faces. Therefore hydration is key: keep your face moisturised and well looked after. And don’t forget your sun-cream either- just because it’s cold, it doesn’t mean that the sun stops shining and penetrating your skin. Protect yourself!


Since it is a little cooler now, I like to add more warmth to my face so I don’t look even paler than usual. Using a large bronzing brush, sweep your bronzer product across your cheeks and forehead to give yourself more warmth. A little pop of blusher will also help to keep warmth in your face; what I like to do here is, again using a large fluffy brush, gently tap the product across the cheekbone and on the apples of my cheeks, although I tend to avoid going too heavy on the latter.

Products I recommend:

· Charlotte Tilbury Bronze and Glow Palette

· Simple Kind to Skin Moisturiser

· Dr Sam’s Flawless Daily Sun-Cream SPF 50

· Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush Quad

· Real Techniques 201 Face Brush

Eyes:

You could really get creative on your eyes considering autumn’s gorgeous colour palette. Don’t be afraid to experiment with a bold pop of colour in those autumnal reddy brown tones that we love; when I am using a stronger colour, my technique (and please remember I am not an MUA!) is that, after sweeping a more neutral colour across my lid, I then take a smaller brush and, on my outer corner of my eye, I stamp the stronger colour I want to use. Then, using a lighter colour, I blend in small, circular motions with a smaller, fluffier brush to blend out that initial stamp.


If you wanted to take more inspiration from Fall, you could add a shimmer on your lid that is reminiscent of some golden leaves to complete your bold pop or to just wear as a look on its own.


And don’t forget your mascara or lashes!

Products I recommend:

· Huda Beauty Warm Brown Obsessions Palette

· Hourglass Scattered Light Glitter Eyeshadow in ‘Ray’

· Zoeva Cocoa Blend Palette

· Max Factor False Lash Effect Mascara

· Prima Lash ‘Nanci’ Lashes

· Real Techniques ‘Essential Crease’ Brush

Lips:

If you’ve ever wanted to try a new colour on your lips, now is the perfect time! It’s important to prep your lips beforehand by keeping them hydrated, which was also help with the longevity of products like liquid lipsticks.


Once that’s all sorted, you can be as creative as you like. Try classic fall colours, like browns, deep reds or purples on your lips, and pair it with a simpler, laid back eye if you want to let your lips to do the talking. Remember your lip-liner too, and use that in one of those darker autumnal colours to add definition.


You’ve just got to keep an eye out for that dreaded lipstick-on-teeth situation!

Products I recommend:

· Dr PawPaw Original Balm

· MAC Velvet Teddy Lipstick

· Hourglass Confessions Lipsticks in the shade ‘If I Could’

· NYX Suede Matte Lip-Liner in ‘Soft-Spoken’

Here are some looks that I’ve done recently that have incorporated these tricks and have been inspired by fall.


1. A dark lip and lashes combo




2. A warm, glowy face with a shimmery eye




3. A bolder eye look with an autumnal colour




Take inspiration from the season and try out some new makeup looks! Makeup is all about experimenting and having fun so what’s stopping you?

Written by Madeleine Gill

18 views0 comments
bottom of page