top of page
  • Emily Pollock

LIVE REVIEW: DMA's

On Friday, I travelled from Sheffield to London to see Aussie band DMA’s at the incredible venue that is Alexandra Palace, and the journey was definitely worth it.


It was unlike any other gig I have been to before due to its luxury interior and extensive size for a standing gig. In the large hall which you enter before the arena, there were several enticing food vendors and bars, which was reminiscent of being at a festival, and not at all what I was expecting. There was also a two-man band called The Maida Vales singing some of the biggest indie hits in front of a large Ally Pally sign to get the crowd pumped before DMA's.


There were many aspects of the night which I thoroughly enjoyed aside from seeing one of my favourite bands live. The atmosphere both leading up to and when DMA’s came on stage was the best of any gig I’ve been to – there was such an atmosphere in the crowd and everyone was there to just have a great night.


One of my favourite things about gigs is the mutual enjoyment among the crowd and it was so nice, considering the past year, to sing along with hundreds of other people. As it was DMAs’ first tour performing songs off their latest album from 2020, The Glow, their setlist was a mixture of both new and older songs. Some of my personal favourites were Silver, Life is a Game of Changing and In the Moment.


The only minor thing I didn’t enjoy so much was the extortionate food and pint prices, which didn't come as a surprise given the venue. All in all, it was a great night seeing DMA's for the first time and I will definitely try and visit Alexandra Palace again in the near future.


Edited by Hannah Youds

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page