top of page
  • Lucy Vincent

Interview: Ed Westwick

Updated: Jan 30, 2021

Ed Westwick, an actor best known for his role as Chuck Bass in Gossip Girl, has always encouraged people to "get rid of doubt" and "just do it."


So I took his advice and approached him on Instagram to ask if I could interview him for Liberty Belle. I was lucky enough to get a response and had the opportunity to ask him a few of my burning questions:


Q: What’s The hardest role you’ve ever played, and why?


“Each role is unique and has its own demands. Some require you to go further, spend more mental and physical flexibility and energy. The role in Wicked City was just pure dark. An uncomfortable place to visit with your mind. But after a day of shooting, you are happy to be back in you, and your world.”


Q: what advice would you give to your younger Self?


“Get rid of doubt. Just do it.”


The lockdown restrictions as a result of COVID-19 have definitely put into perspective just how boring and isolated life can become. Looking back, in 2019, there were so many opportunities that I wish I could have taken or approached differently. For 2021 I want to start a society at University, and this interview has given me the confidence to do just that!


Q: Where did you receive your acting training?


“The National Youth Theatre, Top Hat Stage and Screen School but LIFE really. And plays and movies! I have always absorbed and felt life. We as humans take what we feel and then present it to the rest of us, consciously or otherwise.”


Q: Who are your favourite actors?


“Brando, depp, Pacino, Pitt, Cruise, O’toole, Thandie Newton, Leighton Meester, Bill Nighy.”


It is so cool to see actors such as Ed be inspired by their co-stars such Leighton Meester who played Blair Waldorf in Gossip Girl.


Q: Projects you are currently working on?


“I am developing 2 films which I have been part of the creation on. I have a film, ME YOU MADNESS coming out in Feb.”


Q: Have there been any discussions of a gossip girl reunion and would you be open to filming one?


“No reunion. It would be fun though.”


HBO Max are currently filming a reboot of Gossip Girl with a completely new cast. Looking at recently released photos, it is hard to image other actors taking on the roles of such iconic characters such as Chuck Bass. Despite this, I really hope original characters are asked to come back if the new series is successful.


Q: Are you planning on releasing anymore merchandise soon?


“Only if people want more! Which it would seem is the case.”


Q: Recommend me three songs I should listen too right now?


"Blueberry eyes - Max"


"Think I’m crazy - Two Feet"


"Silver tongue devil – Masego"


Q: Have you ever been told to change something about yourself while working in your industry?


“Of course. But people will always try to make you into something. Sometimes it’s for good.”


There is a lot of pressure to be all things to all people as my mother use to say. You have to think about if you like the person you are becoming and if your priorities are in the correct place and people.


I am a huge fan of Ed’s, so I often check his social media, his dedication to his fans along with spreading awareness on behalf of them and caring for their mental health is really touching. With this in mind, during the third national lockdown, it seemed liked a good time to reach out to someone like him.


Edited by Jemma Snowdon

138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page