top of page
  • Imogen Bowlt

I didn't know I had curly hair: Here is what I do now

Updated: Oct 4, 2023

Yes, I am one of those girls.


The ones who discovered very late into their life that their hair, which was once pin straight, was designed for curly products


So how did I find this out?


Since being a teenager, my hair has never been able to air dry (or blow dry) to be straight.

My hair was probably so damaged from the amount of heat I have put on it over the years to try and tame the frizz.


It was like roulette, some bits were straight, some wavy, and some fully curly.


One night a few months ago, I decided to scrunch the conditioner (what the curly community call “squish to condish”) and style it without a brush to see what happened.


Low and behold, my hair came out SUPER CURLY.




And that was it, I was on a mission to train my curl pattern.



Based on this guide, I am between 2b and 3c, which is a pretty big jump considering I had pin-straight hair when I was younger.


I have worked out that the reason my hair changed so drastically is because of puberty. Hair textures can change so much. Just look at Taylor Swift; She started off her career at 16 with golden ringlets, to now having long straight locks (both of which are something to be envious of.)


The main reason why my hair now looks so different than a few months ago is to do with styling. This is how you achieve the voluminous bouncy curls.


It is definitely trial and error when it comes to finding which products will work best for your hair type, but here are my favourite products:


I will only wash my hair once a week with shampoo - that is all my specific hair needs. However, I will wet my hair either in the shower or with a spray bottle to reactivate the next few products which I am about to mention.


The John Frieda dream curls conditioner is dreamy and a must-have for conditioning your hair and take care of your curls.


The Frizz Ease styling Mousse is also, as I have found, a must have for girls with curls. I have tried a fair few mousses, and this one allows the most definition and shapes to your hair.


Since the change in styling my hair, I have put a subtle balayage in my hair, which is obviously not essential. However, if you have one block hair colour as I do, balayage helps to break up the curls and make them more defined with the difference in colour. Rather than having to buy a whole new hairdryer and diffuser, I also bought a diffuser head which fits over almost every brand of hairdryer.


I am still continuing to experiment and change up my routine, but I would say I am very happy with where I am so far. If you have similar issues with your hair, try out a curly hair routine and see where it gets you.


bottom of page