top of page
  • Mel Milsom

How to make your makeup bag cruelty free

Veganism is on the rise, and with that so is the consumer focus on ethical buying, makeup included. But what does it mean to shop cruelty-free?


Cruelty-free make-up means that the finished product, ingredients and suppliers in question haven't been tested on animals. It might sound daunting, or you're worried that you'll get it wrong, but there are now plenty of easy ways to find makeup that is ethical.


Cruelty free kitty is a top recommended source for people looking to shop cruelty free, and even your small change in makeup buying habits can make a world of difference.


So here is my breakdown of some of the cruelty-free products that help me fight against animal testing:


Lush

This is a given! Lush cosmetics has been fighting against animal testing since they opened their first stores. My top pick would be the eyeliner. It's long lasting and applies smoothly with lots of pigment. It's also available in all sorts of fun colours.


Another must-have on my list from Lush is the Slapstick Foundation. It's again available in lots of inclusive shades and is completely waste-free! It's pretty full coverage so you can apply as you'd like, just remember a little will go a long way.


Essence

The Lash Princess mascara is a must. This was the first product I bought when I decided I wanted to go cruelty free. It's super affordable and good quality. My 15-year-old self was not disappointed.


E.l.f Cosmetics

The Poreless Putty Primer really speaks for itself. It leaves your skin looking flawless and provides a smooth base for your foundation. If you have larger pores, this one is for you.


Another winner from E.l.f Cosmetics is their Hydrating Camo Concealer. Not only is it known for being a perfect dupe for Tarte’s Shape Tape concealer, but it's also way more affordable.


But where should we start?

On a student budget, there was no way I was going to tip out my makeup bag and chuck everything away that wasn’t cruelty-free. I started by using those products up and trying to find an alternative that works for me and I am still on this journey.


I encourage you to start yours today.


Edited by Imogen Bowlt

12 views0 comments
bottom of page