top of page
  • Gina Kalsi

Has the Fast and Furious franchise lost its drive?

Fast and Furious. Where do I begin?


The franchise has morphed into something unrecognisable since it first hit cinemas in 2001, and you don’t have to be a mega fan to realise this. What used to be about beautiful cars, illegal street racing and loyalty is now centred around launching cars into space and resurrection. And of course, family!


Who could forget family when it’s shoved down our throats every five minutes?


The recent films have touched a nerve because the first few Fast and Furious films hold a special place in my heart. I can distinctly remember sitting on my dad’s knee, watching them with him when I was younger. Fond memories include mini me observing the turbo flutters and the roaring of the engines, which led to my interest in cars today.


The first Fast and Furious film will always be my favourite. The element of family didn’t feel forced and the cars were the stars of the show, rather than an afterthought. Paul Walker was alive, and he essentially made the franchise what it is today. I would love to be able to say that his spirit has been kept alive throughout the films, but like many other fans, I believe the franchise died with him.


The name Fast and Furious is not even fit for purpose anymore. It is meaningless, much like the films. Furious is perhaps the route to go down, since every single scene contains a fight to see who is more ‘macho’.


Although F&F 9 grossed over $721 million worldwide and number 10 is already in the works, I will not be rushing to the cinema to see it anytime soon.


I am too busy grieving the loss of the original films to subject myself to a franchise which now leaves an artificial, sour taste in my mouth.


Edited by Hannah Youds

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page