top of page
  • Lucy Vincent

Fragrances for the spring season

I’ve been collecting perfume samples for quite a few years and have tried many different fragrances, from drugstore to high end on the search to find my own signature scent. I want to share my top picks for the upcoming spring season.


My first recommendation is Glossier You by the makeup and skincare brand Glossier. This is a light scent with pink pepper and warm floral undertones. It retails for £45 and it’s designed to smell “soft, warm and familiar”; there’s something extremely unique about the scent and it smells different on each person. This is a great transition scent from winter to spring and I have received many compliments from wearing this perfume. It also easily holds up to other fancy designer fragrances.


My next recommendation would have to be Wild Bluebell by Jo Malone. The way I describe this fragrance is simply by imagining yourself in a field full of dewy bluebells and lilies. They offer three different sizes from 30ml, 50ml and 100ml, starting at £50. This may be pricy, especially if you prefer a much stronger and longer lasting perfume, as Wild Bluebell is a very pretty, light floral scent. This fragrance also happens to be a favourite of Meghan Markle's, known to be one of her signature day time scents.


A few years ago, my mother took me boutique shopping in my local area where she stumbled upon Laboratory Perfumes. I choose the scent called Gorse, which is a zesty, refreshing scent, described as “conjuring scenes of sunny, seaside holidays or lazy hours lounging in an English meadow.” My mother choose the scent named Amber, which has layers of wood and smokey notes. This is a perfect evening fragrance inspired by the English countryside and a perfect edition to every dressing table. Each of their scents is 100ml for £80 and, although this may seem on the expensive side, their fragrances will last you for many months. This brand has some very unique smelling fragrances and have many great dupes for Creed fragrances.


One of my favourite perfumes that is just perfect for lifting yourself out of the winter months is Calvin Klein All. This is a citrusy uni-sex perfume which is extremely refreshing and has brilliant versatility for any occasion. This fragrance has such a fresh scent to it and lasts a lot longer than most other fragrances I have tried. The bottle has a sleek, modern design to it, as well as a cap to the separate spray, which is perfect for travelling. It retails at £40 for 100ml, also making for a nice gift.


My final recommendation would have to be the Body Shop body mists collection. These are super affordable at £10 for 100ml and they have a variety of scents that are lightweight and refreshing. My scent recommendations for the upcoming season would have to be the Satsuma body mist, the Strawberry body mist and British Rose. Each of these scents are cruelty free, vegan and good for sensitive skin.


Some other really great contenders that didn’t make the list but I have to mention are:


Jo Malone- Lime Basil Mandarin

Gucci- Gucci In Bloom

Tiffany & Co- Eau De Perfume For Her

Shay and Blue- Atropa Belladonna


Edited by Madeleine Gill

bottom of page