top of page
  • Ella Brooker

Are lash extensions really worth it?

As someone who became obsessed with eyelash extensions for two years, only to realise they were a waste of money, knocking my confidence and ruining my natural lashes, I have a PSA for you all.


It can seem extremely tempting when you see how amazing they can look and how easy it is to wake up with voluminous lashes with no effort – but it is also easy to forget the high cost involved with keeping up this high maintenance treatment. Costing anywhere between £40 and £80 for a full new set, and £25 to £35 for a biweekly top up, lash extensions really are bank-breaking.

For any young person, whether you work or not, this can quickly add up to hundreds of pounds a year, which is undeniably a big investment for anyone – think of all the things you could buy with that money instead.


The price is not the only cost involved either. Eyelash extensions can cost you your confidence in your natural self. As someone who absolutely loves makeup and getting glam, I still try to maintain a healthy relationship with my image when I take it off. However, I found when I had eyelash extensions continuously for so long, it warped my view of how I looked, as they don’t come off at the end of the day like makeup does.


When they did eventually get taken off to allow a ‘break’ for my eyes, I had never felt so insecure in my appearance. It is safe to say I became reliant on them to feel confident. Of course everyone should do what makes them feel great, but loving your natural self is just as important. Paying all this money for something which instilled the opposite in me was not worth it.


The treatment is also not great for the health of your natural lashes. After getting extensions for a while, they weaken and shorten them, and in some cases can even cause them to fall out. This just adds to the cycle of wanting the extensions even more. In my experience, it took me a lengthy two years to get mine back to how they were before.


It is important to weigh up lots of different factors to decide if they are right for you. If it is something you are itching to try, then make sure you research any lash technician well beforehand and check their reviews thoroughly. Also, make sure they do the treatment properly by searching how it should be done, and asking them to talk you through the procedure.


You should follow any aftercare advice well and try to give your natural lashes a break every so often to allow them to strengthen between sets. I personally recommend them for holidays or special occasions as a one off, but do be careful not to fall into the trap of becoming reliant on them. If you do end up loving them and find the cost is manageable, your confidence is thriving, and your eyelashes feel fine, then that is great – just be mindful it may not always turn out that way.


Edited by Amy Mullen-Brown

bottom of page