top of page
  • Harriet Scott

A Student Musician in Sheffield

Updated: Dec 10, 2023

Sheffield has built a name for itself nurturing musicians into household names. I knew that before I moved here four years ago, and as I played the drums from a young age, I was eager to set out and meet other aspiring musicians. I wanted to create something to take away from my university experience.


Being a first year during the lockdown year in 2020, while fairly bleak and theoretically made meeting other musicians difficult, didn’t stop me from bumping into people who were trying in some form to make music. Whether that be, what seemed to be a million DJs or people who had just learnt new instruments over lockdown, the student campus was full of people who wanted to play music to or with each other.


From the second year onwards, more than broke, my friends and I spent time playing in my bedroom. Most of that time was spent making beats inspired by my bandmates’ song lyrics scrawled in an unreadable order in their notebooks and coming up with less-than-decent band names.


One bandmate in particular decided he would attempt to write song lyrics while taking shrooms* for a burst of inspiration. For anyone doubting that this would work – you’re right. He only ended up writing ‘life is beautiful’ in capital letters in his workbook. I mean he’s not entirely wrong, but it’s not much to go off.


At the end of the second year, my good friend and talented songwriter Billy Westwood decided to put on a gig under his roof assembling the bands Hydeout, Blackwaters, and Sovereigns despite how “financially unsuccessful” it was from generously paying the performers. It was this gig, however, that I believe was a turning point for myself and Billy in committing to creating these kinds of unforgettable memories with our music.


Under the band name Billy initially created himself for his solo work, ‘Mountain Climbers’, a much better name than I ever came up with in two years, we went on to perform at Sidney and Matilda. Playing our songs to a crowd of our friends was a surreal experience, but one that we were all incredibly proud of. Especially as the event raised money for the Sarah Nulty Power of Music Foundation as part of the Music Culture Society Tuned In Festival. I must also shout-out the amazing harmonica solo one of my bandmates played in Billy’s penned song ‘Crookesmoor Blues’ despite having never played a harmonica before.


The novelty of a different person playing the harmonica at each gig has become a tradition now. We hope to continue this with whoever owns a harmonica and wants to try improvising a solo to the heavily Bob Dylan inspired song in the future.


During a pub shift, the owner of Make Noise Studios recognised me working behind the bar and asked if we would like to play in one of their new music events. Of course, this was an offer we could not refuse. Now a four-piece band, we played in one of the back rooms of the studios decorated with fairy lights and a piano bar. We headlined an incredible harp and guitar cover act and a guitarist who was gifted enough to be able to spontaneously come up with lyrics on the spot, which they said removed the trouble of remembering the lyrics. A blend of haunting acoustic and upbeat soft-rock, the gig was a success and made me realise how far we had come as a band.


At present, Billy and I are continuing to work on new music, a process which consists of him playing his songs to me as I attempt to find a distinct groove around them. We hope, if we haven’t peaked already, that we will find ourselves playing arenas around the globe or maybe just The Washington sometime soon. Either way, I hope that Sheffield continues to be a hub for the student music scene and that its general value on local music is granted the recognition it fully deserves.


*If you require drug-use support, there are many services available that can help. FRANK is an online advisory service which you can use free of charge. Mind offers links to self-help groups, therapy, and guidance on meditation and detox techniques.


Edited by Nicole Collins



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page