top of page
  • Hollie-Anne Taylor

A journey of expression through makeup

Updated: Jun 21, 2023

Whether it’s a cat wing or funky eyeshadow, makeup is one of many ways to express yourself. Just a few simple steps can change a whole look and add something a little different.


We use makeup in different ways, sometimes it’s just to touch up and others, it’s to create an artistic look and express yourself. Many looks find their popularity on social media – a personal favourite of mine being starry eyes, where you stick little stars on your eyelids with lip gloss. It's among other super fun and bold looks that have sprung to popularity in recent years.


I first started using makeup in year six, with just mascara at the time. I didn't know how to use it and my auntie had to teach me. After getting used to having a stick so close to my eye, I loved the confidence makeup gave me, even with just the mascara.


My journey progressed when foundation came on the scene, despite having some initial issues with colour matching (as I’m sure we all have!) I truly felt confident when I found a blush shade that didn't clash with my skin tone.


College marked the start of being able to wear makeup freely and in ways I never knew I could. Experimenting with colours, which had always felt daunting, now didn't phase me. Painting my face became an art form and I soon discovered what I liked the most. Yes, I did look weird at times and I went through a lot of makeup wipes, but that's what it's all about and at least I was having fun.


University has brought new makeup challenges – with cat wing eyeliner and my shaky hands being my main nemeses. But nothing beats the feeling of successfully copying someone else's look that you've been trying to master for the longest time.


Not only does makeup make me feel more confident and allows me to express myself, but I often find you can interpret someone's mood based on how they've applied the products. I began as an insecure young girl, wanting to hide my extremely blonde eyelashes, and now I wear it because I can – not because I feel like I have to. Whether I use it minimally or artistically, it given me an outlet to be myself as I've grown up.


Edited by Amy Mullen-Brown

bottom of page