top of page
  • Madeleine Gill

The Christmas Lookbook

Updated: Dec 30, 2020

It’s time to get creative again with a new lookbook- but this time, it’s Christmas themed!

Over the first lockdown I loved doing my lockdown lookbook, where I tried out six entirely different looks. With us now in December, I wanted to do something similar again but with all the looks being based around Christmas.


The five looks I’m going to do this time are the following:

1. A Christmas Party

2. Christmas Morning

3. An Afternoon Of Christmas Baking

4. Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer

5. Mrs Claus


Let’s get started!


A Christmas Party:

Whilst this year’s Christmas parties are going to be in our homes, that doesn’t mean that you can’t go all out. And, with the year that we’ve had, we deserve to dress up and feel as confident as possible.

For this look, I wanted to do something ultra-glamorous and festive. So, I’ve chosen to do a silvery smoky eye with long eyelashes and a nude lip.





I loved how the makeup turned out in the end for this look, especially the eyes. To create this look, I used the mini Star palette by Natasha Denona and put the shade ‘Bellatrix’ all over my lid whilst using ‘Earth’ in my outer corner, blending the colour slightly on my lid and lash line to get a gradual fade of the two colours. To make the shimmer ‘Bellatrix’ pop as much as possible I used my index finger to put it on my lid; I always find that the colour is much more pigmented that way as it doesn’t get lost in your brush. Not forgetting my inner corner, I used the shade ‘Light Coral’ from my Natasha Denona palette 5 and this really helped to make the eye pop. I then used my Max Factor False Lash effect mascara to make my lashes really dark, thick and long.

As I went for a more dramatic eye, I wanted to do a nude lip. To line my lips, I used my Charlotte Tilbury Pillow Talk lip-liner and then my Doll Beauty lipstick in the shade ‘Come To Mama’, which I think is a great nude for someone as fair as me. If you’re looking to add a little more Christmas sparkle, I bought these pearl clips from Accessorize and they really tied everything together to make the final look.


Christmas Morning:

I know, I know- not a whole lot of people are going to wake up Christmas morning and put on makeup as the very first thing that they do.

It’s no secret that I never wake up fresh on Christmas morning but I can at least imagine that I do! And the perfect thing about this look? I don’t have to change out of my pyjamas.

I wanted to create a look that could pass as no-makeup, with some soft brows and a little bit of mascara.





This was definitely the easiest look to do out of the five. I kept my face completely bare, apart from a little moisturiser, and put some of my Dr Paw Paw original balm on my lips. For my mascara, I used my trust-worthy Max Factor False Lash Effect mascara but only did a couple of layers to keep it looking as natural as possible. Then, for my brows, I filled my brows in ever so slightly with my Lottie London Arch Rival brow pencil and then used the BPerfect Indestructi’ Brow brow soap to make them look nice and fluffy.


Rudolph The Red Nose Reindeer:

I wonder what I’m going to do for this one? (I’m just gutted that I don’t have any antlers to wear). I have a strange feeling that re-creating a red nose is going to be much harder than I think- or I’ll just do what I usually do and over-complicate everything until I eventually give in or use up all my micellar water.

For this third look, I want to do the classic red nose with freckles which, lucky for me, I have in abundance, and a simple lip. I think it’s obvious what this look’s focal point is going to be.

But the look, as expected, didn’t turn out anywhere near as good as I had hoped it would.



I think if I had some proper bases and paints like an MUA this could have turned out better. Or, if I was just better at doing makeup in general- there was just no saving this look. However, there’s a red nose so I’m calling it Rudolph.

For my nose, I used my Natasha Denona Palette Love palette and used the shade ‘Heart’ all over ( literally had to go right into my nose and nostrils to get that colour everywhere). I wanted to create the illusion of super big eyes and lashes like reindeer so I applied my brown MAC Teddy pencil in my tight-line and lined the lid ever so lightly. One tip I use for the illusion of bigger eyes is making the line slightly thicker in the centre of my lid as this really lifts the eye. I applied some false lashes then, using the style ‘Nanci’ from Primalash.

Don’t even ask what those dots on my cheeks are. I looked up loads of tutorials and pictures by MUAs doing Rudolph inspired looks and they all seemed to have these white spots so I tried to mimic it, but just failed miserably. The lack of reindeer ears really didn’t help me either.

Do I get points for trying?


An Afternoon Of Christmas Baking:

My vision was to look like something you would pin onto your Pinterest board for the *aesthetic*.

I wanted something wintery, cosy, but still a little glam. What immediately came to mind was a messy bun, an over-sized jumper and a dark lip. There will be no action photos of me baking, however- I turn into a sweaty, stressful mess in the kitchen, which is not the aesthetic we’re aiming for.




I think I achieved what I was aiming for with this look. For this dark berry lip, I used my Hourglass Confessions Lipstick in the shade ‘If I Could’. I made sure to moisturise and prime my lips first though as I know that darker colours can be a little trickier to get right and often stick to cracked lips so, I used my Dr Paw Paw original balm here.

For my eyeliner flick, I used my Too Faced Better Than Sex liner. To achieve a slick wing, I personally start with the top of my wing and draw inwards to line the eye, filling in the gaps afterwards. For my lashes, I again used my ‘Nanci’ lashes from Primalash. Throw on some gold hoops from Missoma and you’ve got the *aesthetic*.


Mrs Claus

I’m not doing anything too complicated or theatrical for this; we’ve seen how my Rudolph went.

I’m going to keep it classy with a signature Christmas red colour for my lips but then I’m going to add some little face gems around my eyes for that classic Mrs Claus twinkle.




I honestly love adding gems onto my makeup looks, I just feel so sparkly and *fancy*. I bought mine from ASOS but you can literally get these little things anywhere, like Amazon or sites such as Beauty Bay.

For my eyes, I again used my mini Natasha Denona Star palette. I put the shade ‘Atik’ all over my lid and then popped ‘Bellatrix’ just above my iris. I found that by doing this, it really makes your eyes pop. I then put the smallest gem I had from my pack in my inner corner and then a slightly bigger gem on the outer corner of my eye. With a bit of mascara, the eyes were good to go.

For my Christmas red, I used the L’Oreal Paris riche colour lipstick in the shade ‘377-Perfect Red’. The formula is amazing, it is so creamy and really buildable. Plus, the red is pretty much spot on for what I was looking for.


And that’s all five looks done for the Christmas Lookbook. Well, four- I’m not counting Rudolph.


11 views0 comments
bottom of page